Brakes Fail On Steep Downhills

Hi, I’ve been building and riding eboards for around 5 years and today I encountered an issue I’ve never dealt with before. I was riding down a steep hill, probably going around 5-10mph (I was worried about the potential consequences of brakes having issues on steep hills and not being able to save myself) when my brakes suddenly failed around half way down the hill (about 20ft down the hill). Ive never had this issue before and am assuming that the culprit is my vesc settings. I have dual 170kv 6384 motors and a MakerX DV6 vesc, paired with a Panasonic 21700 12s4p battery. What should my Battery Max, Motor max regen, and absolute max current settings be? Im guessing the vesc wasnt programmed to handle the current spike(?) from a steep downhill with the brakes on at ~90%, but I’m not entirely sure. Any wisdom or advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance for your help!

Was the battery near full charge? I also probably wouldn’t mess with absolute max current since I haven’t seen any issues at default.

My brakes haven’t failed me while going down 42% graded hills and I’ve made sure not to brake at full power. But if you can, explain “brake failing”. Like does it just stop working and cause you to continue movement?

And what is your current setting on the dv6?

by “brake failing” I mean that my brakes will suddenly cut out and I will be going downhill with no brakes. I will have to plug the board into my laptop and run the vesc tool tomorrow and I will get back to you on the current settings. Though I do know that I definitely changed it from the default so maybe the issues lie there.

1 Like

Best to check before re-running. It saves a lot of trouble.