Bypassing BMS of space cell to pull more amps

So I’m getting ready to mod my space cell to pull 60 amps instead of 30 amps.

BMS can tax a max of 30 amps, so I need to pull power before the BMS instead of after.

Do I need the bms powered off while pulling 60 amps before it? Maybe my image how electricity flows is incorrect. But the way I see it is, if I’m pulling 60 amps before the bms, the 60 amps will go through the bms still if the bms is powered on. If it’s powered off, there would be no issue. Is this a correct interpretation?

This would imply I can’t power the battery while the board is on.

I just want to make sure I don’t blow out the bms by wiring around the bms.

Would buying a 60a 10s li-ion bms be a better idea to maintain functionality or is it unnecessary?

1 Like

I have never done this before, so this is an experiment, I imagine just solder another set of wires directly onto the battery where the existing discharge wires are coming from, bypassing the BMS.

Please be sure to set the current limit in the vesc so you don’t cook your pack trying to pull too many amps.

then you will have two sets of discharge wires, one that is BMS limited ones that are not. this way you can choose.

Could you imagine this damaging the cells, by not pulling through the bms?

I’m going to buy a bms in the group buy on here that can pull 80 amps, so everything can be wired through a bms, but in the mean time I still need power, so I’ll try out what you suggested.

yes, it is possible to damage cells if you discharge them too rapidly.

And that can be taken care of by setting the max dischanrge in the VESC.

Is the a max amps that these particular cells should be discharged at?

I know you said set them to 60, I was curious if they can take 80 continuously?

the vesc can control current from battery.

Yes, I get that.

But is 60a the max I should discharge from these cells? Or are they capable of 80a?