Choosing a BMS but im a noob

Hey guys, im nearing the end of my second build and one of the final touches is a BMS. i’ve been in contact with bestech and im not 100% sure the one the sales assistant suggests is the right one i need

I have 2 12C 6S lipo batteries in series to make a 12S battery powering each motor. https://tinyurl.com/yy8fwqpe

this is the info they gave me, i know i can bypass when discharging but i was concerned about charging, will this do?

my first time dealing with a bms so i appreciate the help

Screenshot_20190720-194926_Word%201 Screenshot_20190720-194926_Word

It looks like it can handle 60A+ charge current, which is a complete overkill. It’s pretty bulky. How much is the price? You would likely be better off getting the DieBieMS.

they keep dodging the price everytime i ask so i don’t know atm, should i ask for a lower amped bms, when i emailed them i said the max amps the batteries can draw was 150, is 60 enough? thats the max my vesc can handle, but if im bypassing when discharging does it even matter?

Your battery is rated for 12s 79.2A

1 Like

oh okay, so a 80A bms should be fine? thanks again btw

I think I’ve read that bestech won’t sell a single BMS, they only sell in groups of two? I may be wrong.

1 Like

What you have linked looks like a pretty advanced and beefy BMS. I suppose the price will be well above $200. It’s an overkill.

Are you looking for a smart BMS? If yes, DieBieMS is likely a better options since it fits the esk8 ecosystem. It can communicate with VESCs and if you get the Metr module, you can get the BMS data on your mobile phone. At $120 shipped it’s probably also a lot cheaper.

If you don’t want/need a smart BMS, you have a number of cheaper and more compact options, especially if you’re OK with bypassing discharge. In that case Bestech D140 is pretty popular.