Controlling bms power e-switch switch via an arduino

I’m currently running a setup with vesc controlled via arduino. Would it be possible to drive the BMS e-switch via the arduino so I can power down the battery after idle timeout. Then use the inductive voltage generated by the motor to power up arduino long enough to re-activate the battery switch and turn on main power? I know there are a lot of self taught tinkerers here, but please post only if you have experience as an electrical engineering. Thank you.

That’s a pretty neat idea. I’m an electrical engineer too but they don’t teach me arduino stuff.

My understand of e-switch is pretty noob but since a solenoid behaves like a switch. Maybe you can connect the solenoid parallel to the e-switch so that it doesn’t matter if the e-switch is on/off, the solenoid can still deliver current to the bms and turns on the board? BTW the solenoid is controlled by the arduino and I think you can program it so that it can detect signals from the motor or the vesc?

Sorry if I’m wrong though.

@gee I’m don’t understand why a solenoid is necessary? In my mind the switch is replaced with an arduino controlled transistor or mossfet that opens the bms eswitch circuit (which reads 9V across when switch is off btw), thus deactivating the BMS. Right now when I kick push my board, it briefly powers up the vesc, and arduino. Hopefully this is enough juice to power up the transistor and thus re-activate the BMS. Could you confirm if this would work? Do I need any additional components besides a current limiting resistor between the gate and the arduino pin? schemeit-project My biggest concern is possible damage to the vesc or the BMS, this would not be easy for me to replace