Curious about amperage draw of 500watt diyeboard hub motors

I’m new to all this and I basically built up a board from diyeboard.com

I put together a diyeboard.com10s5p battery, their V2.1 ESC, and their dual hub motor 1000W75KV Power Truck (2 500W motors). The board works and I enjoy riding it around.

I found the board to be really heavy. (50 cells) And I only have a 1.5 mile commute to work, so I did not need a whole lot of capacity, so I decide to try and build up a board, with a new battery pack from 20 cells.

I thought at first I just wanted a 10s1p so I ordered up 10 2500ma LG cells. But before I tried them out, I ordered another 10.

I knew that I needed a BMS and I wanted something relatively quick, (I live in the US) so I ordered this from amazon: DC42-45V Input Battery Protection BMS PCB Board for 10 Packs 36V Li-ion Cell Max 40A w/ Balance.

(In fact I order two of them)

I blindly ordered the 40a BMS’s (Output current up to 30A) without really understanding how much current my twin 500watt motors pull. Could it simply be 500watts divided by volts (~39) to equal 12.8 amps per motor?

So my game plan was to use 1 BMS with a 10s1p cell configuration. and the other BMS for other 10s1p cells, then place the two 10s1p packs in parallel for what might be considered a 10s2p pack with 2 40A BMS.

I guess my question is does anybody know how much current my diyeboard twin 500watt motors actually pull? Will my two BMS’s work in the configuration that I proposed?

Thank you in advance, and forgive me if I should be posting in a different catagory,

alan