Design Parameters for 3D printed parts?

I studied plastic injection molding in college years ago. The 3 main rules for good parts were consistent part wall thickness, generous radii and draft. These 3 basic rules insured good results when molding plastic parts. My question is this.

What are the basic rules of “3D printing” plastic parts to get good results?

I am designing a riser/spacer for a battery enclosure but I want a generous wall thickness (.75 - 1.0 inch thick x 1.0" tall). Is that ok? Should I hollow it out with a spider web of triangles or holes so it is thick but not solid? The reason I want this thickness is to match the flange on my enclosure and also to create surface area for attachment to the bottom of skateboard with 3M dual lock tape (no screws).

When I am done I will be looking for someone on the forum to print it for me.

The design rules I go with are usually:

• Avoid high strain between printing layers
  • Design with printing orientation in mind (no/fewer support during printing)
  • More than 70% infill doesn’t give much more strength

The only thing wrong with more walls/bottom/top surfaces is material usage and print time, which if contracting a print will drive up the cost a lot. A small but volume dense part can quickly add up to a lot of filament. The general rule is 3 or more walls on a 0.4mm nozzle for strength. I usually do 5 or even 6 walls for strength though. As long as you have enough walls, you can have quite low (15-20%) infill and still have a very strong/rigid part.

When it comes to skateboard parts, especially load bearing parts… such as riser pads… I feel much safer just doing 100% infill with 5 walls. Infill itself doesn’t add much to a structures strength, that’s mostly the walls that do that… but (common sense says) this mostly applies to infill percentages below 100%… a solid brick of plastic is obviously it’s own beast of strength.