Destroyed my Flipsky 4.12, help me figure it out

Okay so I was just randomly playing with my board, which is currently in a state of repair. Was just spinning the motors up, one of them would spin some times and wouldn’t other times. Then a loud pop with some smoke, and she’s fucked. Can anyone help me figure out what I did wrong? This is my first time playing with VESCs, so I had battery amps set to like 30AIMG_20180926_183707

I know I’ve blown the DRV, just wondered if anyone had any idea of why it happened so I know to not do it again

If you were running it on the bench you may have exceeded the 60k erpm limit…

Did you go full throttle without any load? What’s your battery and motor values?

It’s a clone and when you look at the placement of the FETs, it’s not made very well. The two FETs (lower right corner are nearly touching each other). It would not surprise me if this is not the only issue.

Settings, what did you do, vendor, brand?

1 Like

Does setting an ERPM limit in vesc-tool stop this? Or is it more of a soft limit?

Yeah I did, that’s probably what did it.

12s5p 30Q with SK8 6364 190kV on FOC

Motor Max 50A Motor Min -30A

Batt Max 30A Batt Min Regen -2A

I can now see how it seems pretty clear this is my fuck up. I just want to be able to learn as much as possible to help in the future

Never blast it on the bench… and 12s foc is a very risky business…

2 Likes

Time for that upgrade to VESC6 I think, before my build is even completed hahaha

1 Like

And -2A on the battery min will not give you any brakes. This value defines the strength of the brakes at speed. The motor min becomes more dominant at slower speeds! It doesn’t help to use high motor regen values and low Batt Min Regen values. The braking energy needs to be stored somewhere. If you close that door, you will not have an brakes when you need them.