Doing the (d)rucks

Hi guys,

For my next build I am planning to do my own CNC machined trucks. My current build uses Caliber II trucks which I don’t like so much. The narrow hanger and hence distance between wheels make me feel unsafe at higher speed. Over the past days I did a basic model of a CNC machined truck with hanger width of 230-250 mm. The thing is I am not an expert skater and I don’t have proper knowledge what arrangement feels right. Going with the Caliber II truck design and extend bits here and there would be the safest option, however, I would like to have a little more compact truck since I would like to use a drop through deck + 7" wheels.

I am particularly not sure about:

• pivot size and shape
  • pivot cup (off-the-shelf thing, maybe from Caliber II)
  • axle (e.g. Aera Titanium Axle)
  • material (e.g. AL 7075?)
  • kingpin location w.r.t. truck axle (inline or offset???)
  • stability increase/decrease with longer/shorter distance between pivot and kingpin???

These axle stubs have a relatively short thread which worries me a bit!?

Lot’s of things to decide and I am not an expert.

Cheers!

2 Likes

Looking forward to seeing how this develops!

Not a skater neither an Expert in this matter, but how do you Plan putting inside the aluminum the Rod that keeps your wheels? I mean, the Trucks in a regular Longobard are a composite , not just One big chunk, right?

Threads on either side of the truck. (Most) cast trucks do have an axle throughout the hanger but CNC trucks often use these axle stubs which will be screwed in.

3 Likes

Nice post on the Aera axles. I didn’t know they make these. You can do FEA on your trucks to know if what you make will work. The hangers made of 7075 aluminum is a good choice. Just for comparison, I have milled out a 10" width hanger, not including the axles, out of 2024-T3 aluminum. Works to my specification.