ESCALATE ||| a VESC 6 derivative

Hi guys, this winter I had some free time so I decided to start learning about electronics, even though what I am studying (mechanical engineering) doesn’t formally require it.

I thought that starting with something interesting would help me learn faster; so I downloaded altium and I slowly built libraries, schematics and pcb layout of VESC 6.4 .

The whole process, expecially the library production, took quite some time to accomplish; for this reason I thought it would be nice to share my work with the experienced guys, which don’t need to learn the basics.

Open hardware but… To respect Ben Vedder decision about not sharing the gerbers -with the goal of keeping the project in the hands of experienced guys to avoid poor quality vescs- these are the conditions to get the files :

1. you have electronics experience and have some open-source contribution records
  2. if you plan to sell the hardware you agree to donate a fixed % to Vedder

The documentation that I will share includes everything: gerbers, schematics, libraries, pcb source files and enclosure 3d model (in the works…).

Example of people who can ask for the files are : @jtag , @solidgeek , @Ackmaniac

34 Likes

About the name: if the name doesn’t sound good in english, please PM me a better one!

About the hardware:

1. as you can see the tallest components have been routed as far as possible from the fets; the reason is to keep more mass close to the mosfets

2. connectors are still JST PH 2.0, just a surface mount type. I used the industry standard 1.5mm pitch for the SENSOR connector, so no more adapters are needed; the PPM connector has been substituited with a more convenient solder pad (so the wire can be presoldered at the fab)

3. dimensions are 61.5 x 59.1 mm

4. since directfets seem always out of stock, I will make a second version of this pcb with 4 ntmfs5c604 per gate providing about half of the 2 directfet RDSon