Firmware update motor wont detect

for the last week i have been trying to get my dual 6374 motors on two enertion focboxs to connect with can bus but cannot using bldc tool from enertion website (which i got motor detection). so i tried ackmaniac tool. i updated my firmware as it told me it was too old. i am able to set everything up motor wise besides it will not detect either motor. i also cannot get the can bus to work what so ever either. ive ran both set up wizards for motor and input and still nothing. no clue how to figure this out. this is my first build and it is becoming very frustrating. if it helps im using a 12s5p battery as well. please any help would be much appreciated.

What tutorial did you use to set your Focboxes up ?

Did you remove the motor pulley and belt/chain before each launching motor detection in BLDC Tool ?

When you tried to set the 2 Focboxes up, have you powered only 1 focbox while the CAN bus was plugged to both Focboxes ?

I followed a video on YouTube of a guy setting up two hub motors. I did not keep can wire plugged in while configuring the motors settings using the setup wizard. No belts on the motor just the pulley. It’s so weird that it will spin and work but no detection. Motors fail hall sensor detection as well even when using the bldc tool that will detect the motors. So old firmware detects motors but not hall sensors. Newer doesn’t detect anything. There are no fault codes even after failing motor detection

@Slak is referring to when you did try to hook up canbus. If you have both FB hooked up via CAN and don’t power both Vescs at the same time, you can blow can chips… I believe.

http://www.electric-skateboard.builders/t/racerstar-hall-sensor-fail/54023/24?u=sender

Try this from @JohnnyMeduse

1 Like

I was using my battery to.power both at sane time. Never tried pwering one vesc at a time. I’ll give tat a go when I get off work and let ya know how it goes thanks