[First Build] Is this a terrible idea?

Hello I am a 17 year danish student who thinks electric skateboards are cool! also i like building stuff, soldering electronics etc.

I’ve been looking around on prebuild board, and they alle seem to be very expensive, which i belive is fair, since it’s a lot of work to design and manufacturer. What i’ve also noticed is that they all have quite small batteries. Boostedboard for and example has about 12 km(8 miles) of range, with a what 4800 mah battery?

Why not just strap a huge battery underneath the deck?, i mean the space is there, and the weight of 18650’s is not a problem

What i want

I have a 15 km comute to and from my school, that’s at least 30 km a day, and i dont want to go slow either, i have some very long and safe streatches where i want to be able to achive some speed;

Tell me if this build is a terrible idea or what:

Battery I want 96 18650’s in a batterypack strapped under my board; 12S8P i did the math, and a battery like that would be 43 cm ( 17’ ) long, 13 cm ( 5’ ) wide and a bit under 4 cm ( 1.5’ ) high(tall whatver); dont know if that’s too long?, could also cut down to 10S8P as 36V would probably be enough, and that would cut the length down to 36 cm ( 14’ ); that’'s give me 44V and about 22 Ah Also i will be able to purchase cheap cells, as a bit more than 2C discharge rate will be enought to get about 60-80 amps;

for the casing i would possible go with some aluminium and creating a housing for the battery, and the electronics with some sheets;

I’ve played around with 18650’s earlier and have the soldering skill to make a pack like this;

The Drive system I want to create the drive system for the board my self, with truck’s that i will purchase, and a metal plate mounted to the truck, and the motor will mount on that; i’ll asume you know how a basic one motor drive system works; Also i will fire some nuts through a wheel and mount the pulleys and stuff there, you know how it goes;