First Build - Need help | Custom Deck | DIY Semi - Complete Kit

Hey everyone,

I’ve been following the Electric Skating community for a while and have decided to build my own board. Now I have no experience in this field whatsoever and have been reading multiple threads on these forums to help myself get a basis of how to actually build my board. On diyelectricskateboard, they have a semi-complete kit which comes with everyone I need expect for battery, charger and the deck itself:

(1 set / 2 pcs) 180mm TorqueBoards Trucks (BLACK) (1 set) v4 Bolt On Motor Mount (1 set / 4 pcs) 83mm ABEC Flywheel Style Wheels (1 pc) 36T 12mm HTD5 Drive Wheel Pulley for 83mm ABEC Style Wheels (1 pc) 16T or 18T Motor Pulley 12mm HTD5 (1 pc) 255mm Pulley Belt 12mm HTD5 (1 set / 4 pcs) M4 Bolts for RC Motor (1 set / 8 pcs) Bearings (1 set / 4 pcs) Spacers (1 set / 8 pcs) Deck Hardware (1 pcs) 6355mm RC Brushless Motor, 2650 Watts, 230KV, 80Amp Max, 63mm x 55mm, 8mm shaft (1 pcs) Single Motor 12S 120A ESC (1 pcs) ESC Programming Card (1 pcs) 12S UBEC 4mm HXT Series Connector On/Off High Voltage Anti-Spark Switch 2S-14S

My goal is to keep the price below 1200AUD which I would be able to do with this setup. I was wondering if there is a alternative route to assembling my first board that may save me some money and even be beneficial in the long run. It will be used to ride to and from work, as well as to the campus perhaps. I live in an area with some hills but nothing to steep. wSorry for the inexperience :frowning:

Hi! Fair warning I’m half done with my first build (although I do have RC experience), but some thoughts.

The hardware (motor mount / pulley / belt etc) look good. Any considerations into the longboard deck (price range)?

I would look into getting a VESC (Vedder’s ESC). I believe it’s cheaper than the 12S 120A ESC that you have listed, and is more suited for e-sk8. You also wouldn’t need a ESC programming card (the VESC is programmed via a USB cable and a computer).