First build, some questions about it; any suggestions?

First of all this site has been really helpful so far, so thanks to everyone who’s posted information here.

This is my first build, and I think I have everything I’ll need, but here’s the list in case anything is out of sorts:

1. ESC from ebay
  2. Motors from ebay
  3. Two 5S1P 8000mAh batteries in series
  4. Either the Bestech 10S BMS or a 10S BMS from SuPower
  5. A basic deck from SkateShred

As you can probably tell I’m opting for something that’s not too expensive or fast but has decent range. I’m hoping to commute with it so I don’t want to run out of power on the way.

There are a few things I’m not sure of. First, the wiring is a little iffy to me – I drew up a diagram that I think is right, but I’d appreciate any pointers. Second, I’m not sure which charger(s) I should buy. There are plenty out there but I can’t tell which ones are reliable. Finally, the BMS situation: the Bestech BMS looks great and has a built-in e-switch but I have to buy two of them; I was going to buy the SuPower BMS but their site currently doesn’t allow US customers to purchase from them. Should I just go with Bestech or does anyone know how I can order the SuPower?

Here’s the wiring diagram I put together (this was with the SuPower BMS in mind):

EDIT: this diagram isn’t quite right. I have an updated one in the comments.

Thanks for any help!

EDIT: I was able to order the SuPower BMS via email. Hope that one works out!

4 Likes

All parts are OK. If you want it simple: don’t get a BMS, get a IMAX b6 charger. You’ll have to charge them separately or with a parallel board. To connect the batteries in series, just get a series harness from hobby king. If the deck is flexible you’ll need a split enclosure. Get some risers because you need about 10cm of ground clearance from the battery enclosure

mmaner Regular12d This is what I use to pad electronics, a little hot glue and it will stay forever. amazon.com10