First Built! First longboard ever, turned into an Electric longboard not even 5 hours after ownership

Here are pictures of my first build. Unfortunately, I neglected to take photos of when it was initially running. But my board has evolved quite a bit as I learned more.

I was using an eBay kit that had dual 270k motor 2200W. I bought a dual motor board w/ remote. Its a similar board to whats on the Meepo. I was able to achieve 18mph but realized the control board was horribly inefficient because it was draining the battery like crazy and the motors were capable of more.

My very first board set up had the battery and controller board running through a tether made from 14G primary wire and aviation connectors to the motors so nothing was mounted to the board except the motors. Since im a beginner on a longboard I wanted to ensure if I fell off the tether would unplug and the board would stop dead instead of sending hundreds of dollars down the road.

Here is the eBay board ($80)

Here was my initial setup. I was using a Kobalt 40V 2AH battery. A broken charger was used as a battery dock. Quite convenient considering I bought 3 batteries at $20 each. So total of 40V and 6AH. I was getting about 2 miles per battery. They charged from depleted to full in less than an hour each.

Here is the re-purposed broken charger drilled and mounted using the truck bolts. This was while I was upgrading everything. Before the Caliber II trucks I was using whatever generic trucks came with the chinese made kit. Also, I would like to add that the motor mounts were TERRIBLE on the kit from china. It used a motor mount that bolted onto a locking collar. The locking collar relied on set screws and rotated on braking. Not to mention that you had to lathe the trucks to fit the collar. I bought split axle collars and had one side welded to the mounts and it was a huge improvement. The photo of the old mounts will be at the end of the post.