First-time Build | DIY Boosted Replica | Long-distance rather than high-speed build

Hey all,

Recently found my way to this forum, and must say, have learnt more these past few days than I have months watching YouTube videos and reading all the Instructables under the sun about this topic!

I’ve wanted a Boosted Board for a long time now, but cannot afford one by any stretch of the imagination. So, when you can’t buy one, build one!

I have been greatly inspired by the following builds;

1.- @squad -> click here to view project 2.- @Eboosted -> click here to view project

I do apologise for the excessive amount of questions that I will ask, please bear with me, I am a complete novice at all this :slight_smile:

These are my parts so far (none bought, all just theory at this stage. Would rather have everything laid out before spending money):

• Boosted Board Clone
  • Wheels, truck, belt, etc.
  • Motor Bracket
  • Undecided on motors
  • Undecided on VESC/ESC
  • Preferably a 6S battery, as prices for 8S & 10S batteries and accompanying equipment seems to skyrocket compared to 6S.
  • Not sure how to make enclosures, not sure if anybody has made 3D printer files for boosted-like enclosures and wouldn’t mind sharing them (for a price if need be)

Please let me know if I’ve missed anything from the core build, and what I can do to improve the specs, budget is just to keep it as cost-effective as possible.

If there are any errors, please feel free to correct, and let me know what you guys think! :slight_smile:

3 Likes

What’s your budget?

As close to $500 as possible ideally, but there can be some flex in the budget if need be.

1 Like

I wouldn’t recommend the clone vanguard. Mine broke after an extremely short time of use and I only weigh 60kg :frowning:

Seriously, save yourself the money and heartache. Maybe mine was a bad batch but literally anything is better. There’s no concave at all so it’s like standing on a flat lifeless door made of marshmallows.