FWD vs RWD, which is better?

A coworker and longboarder brought something up the other day, why do we place the drive motor on the rear if most of the time our weight is on the front? Wouldn’t it make more sense for it to be a FWD?

Whether its single or dual, would it be better to have the driving wheel up front?

I think in a car it makes sense to have the weight over the driven wheels for traction reasons, I’m not sure that really applies for our boards. I feel like having the motors in the rear make it easier to deal with the torque “shove” since it’s coming from behind you, and you’re usually leaning forward. If the wheels in front of you are pulling you I have a feeling that it would feel a little weird.

I’ve only ever used RWD though so I have no practical experience.

front wheel drive is by far my favorite.

1 Like

Weight is shifted to the rear during acceleration which is where my boards live the majority of their life so the front wheels lose traction under heavy acceleration which isn’t cool other than for showing off your burn out ability. I do notice however that the motors run cooler on the front so thats one plus.

2 Likes

I say AWD!!! EDIT: seriously though, it feels weird running your board FWD

3 Likes

FWD Bustin Maestro, 10S on hummie v1 hubs.

Deck is flipped from push orientation to launch orientation. In other words, its backwards.

@hummie this one is for you then mate!

2 Likes

seriously. Had my wires mixed up on me board first day I tested it(I have reverse mounts) Was super weird to ride with the motors in front.

I’ve ridden with my motors in both front and rear. The biggest problem I had with front was when climbing hills, your weight gets shifted way back and you lose traction. I also prefer them in the back if the board has a kicktail cause when you set it down, the motors are the heaviest part so them slam harder if they’re upfront. Same for picking the board up. It’s a pain with motors up front

1 Like