Hi! Building my general list—input welcome

Hi gang—I’ve been reading through the forum quite a bit, but I’m still well behind the general knowledge curve to be sure. I’m a 48 year old graphic designer from Florida with a casual long boarding hobby. Now I want to go electric.

I was led here after researching many pre-builts and determining the following:

1. I’d like the ability to choose my own deck & some components—I want what’s right for “me”.
  2. I’d like to really learn more about the specifics & science—always achieved from DIY, not to mention the ability to replace, tweak & improve.
  3. I’m a parent, and although I have some discretionary income, spending a lot of money all at once is not in the cards. A piece-by-piece build fits my lifestyle better.

That said, because I’m a designer and not an electrician, I am trying to achieve a “plug-and-play” board of sorts, in the vein of one of RunPlayBack’s videos. Aesthetics & simplicity (from an assembly standpoint) are of major interest to me: So… here’s what I’m thinking

• MOTORS: dual hub motors (I live in Florida—no hills to speak of, and I want to maintain pushability & clean lines). Thing is, I have no idea what sort of hub motors are best—or even available. I’ve looked into Enertion & Carvon, but they don’t seem available for sale at the moment. Anyone have insight on this? This seems to be my “toughest” find at the moment. I really don’t want to do a belt—more interested in hubs.

UPDATE: Pretty sure I’ll shoot for a single belt drive for a first build now—don’t want to get in over my head, or spend a year collecting the parts.

• BATTERY: I’ve already purchased this (the only part I have so far)—an Enertion Space Cell Pro 3 (10s3p), but I want to be sure what I connect in the way of a vesc/motors, etc. are matched well to it—not looking for fires & such, lol.