High Schooler built, electric commuter/school board

Hello everyone, I have been working on this board for about a year now. I have been browsing around this forum for a few months and decided that I would put together an ongoing build log. I have just burned out my fourth Propdrive 500kv motor. This and the battery are the only things that haven’t been upgraded during the duration. Here are the parts that I have settled upon:

• $60 Hobbyking X-Car Beast 150a esc
  • $50 (sale) Multirotor 4s 16 ah battery
  • $20 Propdrive 500kv motor (Big mistake)
  • $25 97mm Flywheel clones (Ebay)
  • Chain drive 8/35
  • Traxxas TQi remote (Had it spare in my shop)
  • Homemade 23x9 inch deck

I am in need of some recommendations for a new motor and a 6s lipo battery. I am willing to spend up to about $110 for a new battery and motor combined. Any suggestions?

Could sell you a way better motor 260kv sk3 and brand new with a keyed shaft

If I were you, I’d would dump the chain and go for a 12—32 or 12—36 belt pulley drive with a 63 ,74 motor if single drive at about 190 kv and run it on at least an 8s battery with a vesc.

What is the problem with chain drive? I started out using 9mm wide belts (Yes, I know I need to do something wider) and they just kept snapping. I have since had zero problems with the chain drive. It has been quiet reliable and inexpensive, less than converting to wider belts. I am planning on doing a $1100 eMTB build with dual 6355 motors some time this summer so I don’t have the money to go all out on this as well. Just looking for something to do the job in and around school.

@willpark16 How much would that be? I have looked into the sk3 motors. They look good and a keyed shaft would be nice.

I’d like 60 if possible but might be able to go lower

1 Like

Your Biggest issue is the motor you are choosing is wrong. 500kv …max a motor should be used is like 270 Kv…

You need to find a motor between 190-245kv