How much power can you draw from a 4.12 VESC UART port?

Title says it all

Basically trying to figure out if I can power an Arduino Mega, with leds, from the vesc’s uart port or is this just too much?

I’m no expert but I believe it’s 5v 1a.

How much power would that be in mA?

Ok, thank you @mmaner!

@scepterr thats 1000 mA so it sound like it might be enough. I’ll have to try I guess and see, haha.

Lol no not how many mA is 1A LMAO How many mA are your power requirements?

I can’t remember exactly, the draw of the vesc itself is like 200-300mA?

1 Like

Seems you might need to step up the voltage.

1 Like

oh, haha. I’m not quite sure yet. It seems like the aurdino is about 200 mah, not sure about everything else.

Working on what I think could be the real solution for good headlights, brake lights, and tail lights, combined with multiple vesc bluetooth.

With the Mega, I can have up to 4 serial connections, so 4wd or 2wd could have data combined for sending to your smart phone.

Also will be integrated with an oled display to put on top of your board to give on board data.

Really, I would like to think of it as the central computer of the board. The vesc’s control the motors still, but all data is passed to this central computer so we can use it for lights, displaying, and to combine data between vesc’s to be sent to your smart phone.

1 Like

Don’t you get access to all vescs via can if using Bluetooth only on master?

No, you only get data from the master vesc then. So if your using it on a 2wd or 4wd, your only getting data from 1 vesc.

If you check out the firmware code, specifically the commands.c file, you’ll see that there is no way setup already to share data between the vesc’s, beside erpm, which is used for traction control.