Making a DIY enclosure!

Ive never made an enclosure so I have decided to make it vs. purchasing one. I will be using fiberglass resin and cloth to cover a Styrofoam plug I will be making tomorrow. I have never used fiberglass before so this should be an adventure. Of course I will document the process with pictures as I go.

Before I begin, does anyone have any advise? Feel free to mention anything I may not have thought about.

6 Likes

Wax for easy removak

Use epoxy resin. Polyester resin will likely dissolve the styrofoam. wax paper works well to prevent the resin from sticking to the mold.

1 Like

I had a long conversation with a local who has been building R/C boats for years. According to him as long as I cover everything with clear packing tape I should be good. For resin I will be using ZPoxy as it was suggested and I ordered it a while ago and already have it.

2 Likes

Good luck! Following.

Making the layout.

1 Like

Slight change in layout. I decided to turn the batteries sideways to allow for a more narrow enclosure.

It’s not to bad if you know what your doing. This one is made from scratch in my shop. Solid fiberglass construction with cutouts and seals for the USB ports, charging port, switch, and screen on the space pack.

14 Likes

Well damn, that looks great!

3 Likes

2 Likes

Keep us updated, might be trying this too. Exited to see the result :open_mouth:

It’s ready to cover. Now I just need to figure out how many coats to use! :joy:

Look at my thread, it calls : rebuild my build, On part two you will find usefull info :wink:

Do you mind sharing the file for the motor cover? Ive been planning on drawing one, would save me the trouble.

Could you tell us how you made it ? I’ve worked with fiberglass before, but i’m curious to how you’ve tackled this one. I don’t need a detailed explanation, but a brief work strategy would certainly be appreciated!