Making a wooden deck

Hey guys,

To save money I want to make my own longboard deck (probably 40" or so) with a little bit of flex So does anyone have any tips on making a longboard deck like what wood to use (that doesn’t break the bank) or just tips. I am totally new to woodwork so sorry if these are stupid or obvious questions.

btw I have watched a couple of videos on youtube but they were very old (2011ish)

too @longhairedboy content

“deck made out of a F**king door”

thanks will check out that post

veneer is less expensive the more you get but you can get it reasonably priced. You just have to google a lot. google marwood veneer and maybe just skateboard veneer kit or maybe skateboard deck making diy or something. There are a few ways to laminate but you can use a vac bag and some tightbond III wood glue to laminate your veneer for the best results for a one off. A vacuum bag can be made from visqueen (heavy plastic sheeting) and a vacuum cleaner if you’re really pressed for cash and don’t mind the noise of a potentially burning out vacuum cleaner motor for 6 or 7 hours. A shop vac would be better, but if you don’t have one an upright will do. Or you could buy a pump to go with your kit.

let it cure inside your house for a minimum of 48 hours, no matter how you glue it. if you live where there is cold or heat and humidity or anything not ideal the deck could warp. I warped plenty of decks before i figured out what was happening.

1 Like

@Orin635 if you just need one deck setting yourself up to make one isn’t likely to save you money. Once you buy wood, glue, and supplies will will likely have exceeded the cost of a cheap deck.

I 100% encourage you to make a deck, but realize that it’s not going to save you money.

1 Like

1/8" Baltic Birch is the absolute best beginner material for making decks. Very easy to work with compared with veneer, and makes perfectly viable boards.