My first build! - Low $ Toe Dipper / Banggood 5065 200kv / 6s / ESC TBD

Hi Everyone! This is my first post and build, and I’m grateful for all the information on the community.

I’m new to skateboarding, and have never ridden an esk8. This is a very economical (not “cheap”) first project. It is just for playing around to try the hobby, not commuting or long distance riding.

I’ll be the primary user. My elementary school age kids will want to try it too. I’m about 200 lbs. If we like and use it, I’m happy to build new boards later or upgrade parts. I want top speed limited to 15-17 mph, and would like to be able to limit it further for my kid’s use.

I’ll use the following parts:

Can you please help me pick an ESC? A VESC looks flexible but seems a bit daunting to program. Also, it would be nice to spend less than $160, which seems to be the going rate for an Ollin Boards or FOCBOX unit.

Thanks for your guidance!

1 Like

Hi,

Just want to say that you could be saving money and getting a better product by looking for longboards on ebay/craigslist. There are people out there who buy nice boards but never end up riding it or just don’t like the hobby so they end up selling them on sites like eBay for way less than half the price they paid for something that’s pretty much new! I’d give that a shot, maybe you can find a great deal.

Also I’d recommend going the extra mile and getting a VESC, it is a bit of a pain to program but there are many guides on this site on how to program them and this community exists to help each other out, so if you do have any issues or questions you can always come back here and I’m sure someone would be more than happy to help :slight_smile:

Thanks!

I looked for used boosted boards, etc. However, to me, building things is almost always more fun than actually using them. I just love projects. The REAL goal is to design and build something cool!