Need a motor first build ever

Hey guys,

This is my first build so very new to this any help will be appreciated. So I went with the enertion mono Drive kit and there vesc. I also have 3 3s 5500 35c batteries and I’m going to put into series. I now need a motor I order the sk3 6463 245kv a few months ago but it’s not in and HK basically said have your money back and won’t send me a motor since they are still on backorder the everlasting joke. So I’m an ex college football player so I’m build big I’m 6’8 hover around 305-320 on my bad weeks. What motor would you guys say that I should get. I got care about going 30+mph 14-20 mph works just fine for me.

Again Thank you guys so much hope to run into anyone that build their own board around SD.

You should be running a dual motor setup more powa! :fearful:

I was thinking that was way to much powa even at 50% efficiency it will be about 34mph. I feel like I’ll die haha

You’d gear for less speed and more torque, especially for your weight (man you’re tall)! You should go duals for sure and gear for 3:1 if you don’t want to go too fast. For 9s just stick with 150-200kv motors. What ESC will you be using?

enertion vesc is what I have on order and should have shipped out by now. I geared 2.4:1 since I got the the kit from enertion. What would you think is the best 150kv-200kv motor?

I’d definitely go dual, in real world you won’t ever hit those speeds due to efficiency loss. Power coming from both sides just feels a lot more even as well, specially when turning hard. If you want two BIG motors, you can do a dual diagonal set up. That will give you all the torque you need even at your weight. You also should look at a deck that can withstand that weight.

How about 2 6374 motors from torqueboards? Or you can use enertions 6374s? These will need to be in a dual diag set up though from my understanding, but you can ask @torqueboards what he recommends for a 300+ lb guy. He may have a different suggestion than mine.