[New member] Open source hardware - what does the community need?

Hi.

New member here, thought I should say hi to the community. My name is Aleksander. I’m an electrical engineer, 25 years old, and my hobby is to design electronics in my spare time. I was a part of a formula student team while I studied so I have some experience with motors and batteries (400V battery and 80KW PMSM motor).

I’m planning to design a ESC (using FOC algorithm or similar) for educational purposes. When I’m done with that I’ll probably begin with a BMS design.

My questions are:

1. What do you guys think would benefit the esk8 community?
  2. Anything that is lacking in the open source section?
  3. Any problems with the VESC?
  4. Are there any other hardware designers / software developers on the forum?

I’m hoping to get some discussion in this thread regarding the open source hardware available for esk8. It doesn’t have to limited to ESC, but I’m going to work with ESC design first (again for educational reasons) .

8 Likes

an alternative to the VESC probably wont hurt. i’m actualy more up for a small scale and intelligent BMS. something combined would probably be the crown jewel in this category :wink:

3 Likes

definitely an esc Who have the same futures as a vesc, but can handle alot more amps. :smiling_imp:

Like the Vesc 6, but more affordable :sweat_smile:

2 Likes

more then 240 amps? OK its peak only but i have yet to see the motor that needs 50a continous.

how about an ESC that can handle 2 motors? right now you still need 2 ESC’s for that.

2 Likes

yess thats very handy if you can make everything in one

Welcome to the forum. Usually when people start designing challenging electronics like a foc-esc or a smart bms (see raphaelchang) things get complicated on the software side, leading to uncompleted projects. Why don’t you start with something simpler like a high amps switch (150amps) with directfets or a non-IC bms?