Painting a Motor

Has anyone tried to paint, or some how change the color of their motor? I’m trying to go for an aesthetically pleasing build. All of my parts are different colors, and I want them to mesh together nicely. I know it doesn’t matter at the end of the day because it’s all facing downwards, but there’s something about a good looking set up. Let me know if anyone has painted/changed the color of their motor or any advice if I was to take this on.

If you’re going for a solid color, just 3d print a cover for it. I’d assume it would also be easy to spray paint with some paint made for adhering to metal

Could carbon fibre wrap it if you wanted. That’s what I’m gonna do when I get my new motors. The wrap goes for less than $2 on ebay

@cwazy1 I have no sort of 3D printing knowledge, nor do I have a 3D printer. So I guess I’m looking at painting it? I was looking at automotive automotive engine paint that will take heats up to 550 degrees fahrenheit. Going to paint the motor mount as well.

@pat.speed is wrapping the engine in carbon fibre an easy process? Also, will it tolerate the temperature coming from the motor?

I’m not sure about the temp I didn’t think about that. It’s not very hard it isn’t proper carbon fibre, it’s just a peel and stick sheet that looks like carbon fibre. Google it and you’ll see what I mean. I covered my deck in it the other day it looks great

Your motor should never heat up to the point where you cannot hold it in your palm.

You can use a carbon fiber adhesive wrap if you just want to keep it really simple. It can be found anywhere for dirt cheap.

@cwazy1 I’ll be running a 5065 260 kv motor with 6S4P battery. Are you sure it won’t ever get hot?

@pat.speed Let me know when you carbon fibre wrap your motors. I feel like it will be hard to get a clean wrap on a shape like that.

Definitely shouldn’t get hot. It might get a little warm after heavy use.