Question about rapid charging

I wanted to get some input on charging speed for my battery. I’m somewhat new to this stuff and want a second opinion. I built a 12s5p battery and have a bestech bms with a max charge rate of 20amps. I want to get a second high speed charger for days I want to ride alot and long trips and such. I was on aliexpress and saw a yzpower charger for $93 and I have read that some people here ha ve had a good experience with that brand. Problem is the only option for that charger are 12a,13a,14a,15a. I want a 10amp charger but I don’t knkw about the other brands. I know the 30q cell is rated at 1c so a 5p pack should be able to charge at 15a. I would be using this charge rarely and I would use my 3a charger if I don’t plan to ride anytime soon after the battery dies. What are your options on a 12a charger? Is that to many amps? How bad will it reduce my capacity charging at that current(not using it very often). If anyone knows of a better charger I would love some suggestions thanks!

Interested to hear the results. What BMS are you running?

20190814_160333

The BMS can withstand that, but can the thin balance wires take 12/15/20a?

Make sure to fuse your ports if you’re going that high… I’m getting a 12s7p 30q soon and I’m staying below 8a charging because I’m terrified of hurting something

Then again I’m a wuss, so… :joy:

E: I realize this isn’t how it works.

Well apparently they can. I dont know why they would rate the bms is the balance wires couldnt handle it. I don’t know for sure but the balance wires don’t take the full amperage and just a few milliamps(says 168mA). Then again I hope someone who knows more then me to tell me if it’s ok

1 Like

Balance wires has nothing to do with the max amp om the charger. The balance current is set by the BMS. Read the datasheet for your battery cells to deterimine max charge amp. i.e if its 30Q cells the rated charge is around 4A max per cell.