Question to those who built their own batterypack

So I just finished my spotwelder using a car battery, a 500A 12V relais for car things and an arduino with a mosfet to shortcircuit it roughly 30ms. Works surprisingly well.

I bought 50 of the samsung Q30 and am planning for 8s6p. I’ll probably do 2x 8s3p parallel since the space under the board is limited. I’ll include a BMS of course.

I’m a mechatronic student in the 6th semester, still here are my question(s) to you DIYers:

• what in general should I look out for? I’ll clean the batteries and the nickel strips first with isopropanol.

• Did you shrink wrap your battery pack? If so, how did you do that? If not, why didn’t you? Did you secure your battery pack somehow else or just built a water/dust proof enclosure?

• Is there something you regret afterwards or would do differently?

• What kind of media can you recommend? I’m watching the YT channel of damian rene and find it helpful, can you recommend good sources besides YT?

Thanks for your time,

Ricky

Edit1: I’m only using 8S since the VESC cant have more electric turns per minute with a 130KV HUB as I asked in this thread: http://www.electric-skateboard.builders/t/torque-hubs-with-130kv-and-12s-50v/50420 Thanks for your concerns tho!

I haven’t built a battery but am wondering why you chose 8s6p, why not 10s5p or 12s4p?

Ayy Im a fellow mechatronics student, yeah wondering why you went with 8s6p as well, It could be good dependent on your motor and how fast you want to go but most people typically go 10s or 12s for performance.

As for the battery Ill post the one I made (soldered mine) but basically I arranged my cells in my P group and siliconed them between the gaps using neutral cure silicone (Anti corrosive) then electrical taped the top and bottom followed by kapton tape, some people also recommend a fishpaper layer to prevent wear. Then I made my connections to a busbar (I used cell level fusing) and then heatshrank the whole thing.