RevWatch - Feedback

Hi guys. I’m Binit and I’m new to the forums and EV longboards; however, I’m not new to electronics and longboarding in general. I found this forum a month ago and reading it has become an obsession. Seeing your boards and the cool innovations (Fliess is insane!) convinced me to get started on my own. I just finished making a deck (using the sandwiched plywood technique) and I’m about to paint it. I can post pictures if anyone is interested. Some background: I’m a computer science student who’s currently interning and has way too much time on his hands and also has an affinity for electronics and design. Okay, enough intro.

I’m here to get some feedback on an idea I had for a wrist watch based remote. I’m called the project ‘RevWatch’ because the motion to accelerate is like revving a motorcycle (except the wrong way… you’ll see what I mean). The basic concept is a spring rewinding clip, example, acts as a rotary encoder that is tracked by a microcontroller and converted into an acceleration value that is sent over bluetooth to the HM-10 or whatever bluetooth module is connected to your VESC.

That’s a bit tough to visualize, so here are some renders I whipped up in Blender.

Here’s where I got the inspiration from. Imagine the mechanism is inside my watch.

I’ve gone through a couple of revisions of design so far with varying levels of artistic capability.

And I’ve gotten to the point where I’d like to get some feedback from you guys. But first, some details.

WHY Because I don’t want to be seen riding around with one of these

(not trying to throw shade or anything) and while those DIY remotes I’ve seen are definitely slick, I’d like to try something new.