Scooter motors on Mountain board - Build Report

Hi, inspired by @Martin hub motor build, I decided to go with two scooter hub motors.
I used two 350w Motor on this truck . IMG_20190718_151312 IMG_20190718_151317

The ESC is a Chinese substitute board, I am currently waiting for my odrive to arrive. Since I am a robotics engineer and doing my master in computer vision, I am trying to get an intelligent board, self balance+aid in lining on the bike road+ control the speed for each motor by a joystick for a smoother control.

The battery case is 3d printed, I am currently working on a non-tape involved build with double the amount of 18650, but should be good enough for a few days. I tried placing the motor directly on the truck, then remove the rubber from the wheel and connect it to the mountainboard original wheels, but my skills of working on the metal lathe suck, so it’s I left it for a later version

7 Likes

That looks like it has really bad wheelbite.

1 Like

good stuff man, I’d be interested to know how this build turned out.

top speed? acceleration? Are these motors sensorerd?

So far i can’t measure them, i need to upgrade the battery to a 11s12p 18650 instead of current 10s4p 18650. The motors have a hall sensor, rated for 36V 350w. My esc currently barely can output more then 430 for both motors, still, i get a quite high speed, more then i can handle at this point since i am just a beginner.

Yea, they are close, but never touched. It should be fixed with a modified 15.5 trampa truck

ahh I see. I think 11s12p is over kill. If you use 30Q/25R you should be good with 4p or max about 6p if you want the range. More than that is really unnecessary

how many mi/h or kmph are you getting?

Hi friend, you made it. How about the torque and the max speed ? It seems a little heavy.