Simple quality cruiser/commuter build(s) with an Old School look

So I have been researching electric boards [prebuilt] for the past few weeks, and I can’t seem to find exactly what I want. I decided to consider the DIY route, but I figured I should ask the pros if my vision is realistic. I am thinking of starting this process with just a deck, trucks, bearings and wheels. This way I can kick it around town for a few weeks while I work out the details of the drivetrain, motor, ESC, battery/charger, and remote. This post may contain useless information, please forgive me I am a complete noob…

My girlfriend and I live 1 mile and 2.5 miles away from our offices. There are exactly ZERO hills along our routes. We are both between 140-150lbs. There is no need for us to travel any faster than 15MPH, but we would like to easily cruise at this speed without the motor being maxed out (for the sake of component lifespan). I have a few parts in mind so far for the “base” of the build (see below).

ABEC 11 Flywheels 97mm Bones Ceramic Reds Bearings 10 Inch Caliber Trucks (44 Degree) Deck 9x30 to 10x32 with a subtle kicktail in the rear only with a very retro shape.

Can a board be built that tops out at 15mph without maxing out the motor to reach said speeds? Will the components needed to reach 15mph with solid 6 mile range fit on a shorter deck? Will an electric skateboard with a deck so short be stable on takoff/while riding at a 15MPH speed?

I want this thing to be solid, comfortable and practical.

Thank you in advance for the assistance.

1 Like

You should be able to find everything you need here. Good luck!

Yes it’s doable. Arcboards offers boards that fit your criteria. Could take their boards as inspiration.

look at youtube videos by “oren’s Projects”, for hub motored options

We will need to know you budget if you want recommendations on parts :wink:

Arc board is close, but I cannot trust they are using quality components.