Simple Wiring Questions

I believe i finally have all the parts needed to start assembling my board. First problem i encounter is the actual wiring which i have no knowledge of. I was wondering if i would need to solder the wiring between the motor/esc/batteries(for charging) together or if there was a connector (prefered method) i could buy.

Another off topic question: connecting the batteries to the charger: came with a bunch of wires but not sure if i can use any of them…

Please inform me! Thank you

The motor wires can be connected in any order. If the motor is spinning the wrong direction, simply flip two of the wires an the motor will then start spinning the other way.

For this reason, it is nice to have bullet connectors (matching your motor connectors) that will allow you to switch the wires and disconnect them at will. That said, you could just solder them after making sure your motor was spinning in the right direction.

For the battery, I would recommend a connector. You really don’t want to leave your battery connected to the ESC at all times if you don’t have to.

It looks like the two charging connectors that come with your charger are deans (the dark red two-pronged ones) and an xt60 (the yellow one). So if you just buy a pair of either deans, or xt60’s for your battery and esc, then you’d already have the correct charging cable to go with that connector.

use 5.5 or 4.x bullet connector from Hobbyking. So you can easily attach and detatch. It that takes so long for you and you can’t wait any longer, you could use the cheap cable connector (for test only).

They can do the job to test, but they don’t handle the current you will be drawing when you ride on your board.

The bullet connectors are great, but I wouldn’t even bother with the cheapo testing connectors that Laurnts recommended… just have bullet connectors for the 3 phase wires (that match the ones already on the motor) so you can switch any wires whenever you want.