The Very first one / Apollo Fidji / VESC / 10S2P / Belt

Hey everyone,

started to get boring during the pandemic and did some research on electric longboards. I’m still having a longboard (Apollo Fidji) laying around, so wanted to give it a try.

Goal:

Learn some new skills, trying to make use of my 3D printer that is just sitting on the shelf and having fun. Best case, the longboard will give me a decent distance (7-10km) and speed (max. 25km/h). Just cruising some level and smooth bike ways, no serious slope and no off-road driving. This will definitively be no “hard core” or “high end” build. I’m not avoiding pre-build boards or bolt-on kits for financial reasons - I’m just an enthusiast in building stuff (I guess like everyone else here). But please don’t judge if I’m trying to safe some money here and there as I’m not sure if I will succeed at all :smiley:

Known deficits: I’m a halfway engineer, but didn’t spend too much time in electrical engineering classes - so most of it is honestly just try and error. And sorry if you find some typos, English is not my mother tongue.

Now the specs so far:

Battery

• ICR18650-HE4 25000mAh 20A
  • 10S2P configuration
  • Probably some cheap BMS (10S), bypassing for discharging. Limiting power via VESC.

Controller

• VESC 4.12
  • Flipsky VX1 remote

Board

• I’m starting from a regular Apollo Fidji board I had laying around
  • Wheels are 72mm, so I can already see that it will be critical for the clearance

Motor / Motor mount

• Was really interested in the possibilities, but for simplicity I will go for a belt drive for the moment
  • As far as I can make sense on how all is linked together, I can still go for a different setup by changing the trucks (but for sure with the VESC limitation for one motor)
  • Motor itself wasn’t decided yet, will wait for the mounting kit to arrive first

Enclosure

• Will be a DIY approach based on Fusion 360 and my cheap 3D printer