VESC Cause of Failure?

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting on here, so my apologies if I fail to provide some critical information up front. I’ll do my best to describe my issue, and appreciate any help I can get.

I’m running the following setup

Hardware:

2x 6374 170kv motors, 10S 20Amp BMS (in-line to charge, bypass to discharge), 10S2p battery, XT90 Loop key, GOFOC DV6 VESC, VX1 Remote with splitter (for dual motor vesc), 20T/36T pulley ratio,

A few motor VESC Settings: Motor Current Max: 60A. Motor Current Brake: -60A. Absolute Maximum Motor Current: 150A. Battery Current Max: 99A. Battery Current Max Regen: -60A.

Basically I was on my first day of testing my setup out, I had taken it out for about 5min and then adjusted some of the remote settings and then took it out for another 5min. Everything was operating normally, until it suddenly quit on me. I wasn’t going up a hill or down, I was going fairly slow and I wasn’t necessarily breaking very hard and it just shut down. I went to check on the VESC and I noticed that the blue lights were no longer on, but the red light to my remote receiver was on but appeared to be very dim. The VESC was also very hot. I check my battery output and it was reading about 38v. There was no longer any signal to the motors and when I attempted to connect it to my computer there was no connection to be made. Lastly, I checked all the pins on the VESC for motor and remote input and they were all reading about 2.5v, where I except them to read 5v.

MakerX was kind enough to let me return it for refurb or exchange, so waiting on that now, but I don’t want to make the same mistake twice.