Weird BMS Voltage

I’ve Been Riding my board reliably for a few months, but when on a ride the other afternoon, my board completely shut down. I restarted the board and it worked completely fine on the way home. However, the day after that, my board shut down and wouldn’t turn on… When I tried to power back on, the battery meter went from 4% to 0% slowly. However, when I tried to power it back on after the the fifth time, with my board upside down, my board shut on, and went back to 74%. But shortly after, my board shut down again, doing the same thing…

I went to go open up my board, and I measures the battery pack’s voltage, 47.2V, okay. Then I went go go measure the B- port on my bms, and that, too, read 47.2V. But, when I went to the P- port, the voltage read 3.3V… I’m thinking the bms has a problem, but I cannot flip the BMS upside down due to how its secured to the enclosure. But, if I have to, I will take the BMS out. Do you guys think the BMS is toast? Or should I take the BMS out and see if anything is burnt, because from the top (Heatsink side), It looks okay. Any advice is greatly appreciated! :slight_smile:

What battery and what BMS are you using? I’d start with looking for cold/loose soldering joints.

1 Like

I agree. Sounds like a loose connection. Especially considering the upside down board “test”. Check solder joints in xt60/90 if you are using them. Check at the bms connection too.

1 Like