What longboarders think about Electric Skateboards

As I was browsing around Reddit, I stumbled upon a thread on the r/Longboarding subreddit that asked: “How do you [Longboarders] feel about electric boards?” As one might expect, there were opinions a varying variety, some hate, dislike, appreciation, etc. What caught my attention was this comment thread.

Simply put, what the comment thread spoke of is that, from a longboard perspective non-mechanically wise (as in deck, structure, etc), ESK8’s are poorly designed. Here’s an excerpt of his opinion:

An unfortunate feature of the market for electric skateboards is the actual gear included in every production model I’ve seen is generally poorly designed. The electronics may be well thought out, but I have yet to see a deck or trucks that are remotely designed around electric skateboarding. Every electric board I see is built around a poorly designed deck that would be marketed towards a complete beginner. Making a functional skateboard requires expertise in molding a long history of functional cuts, concaves, and techniques. An understanding of why boards are shaped the way they are only comes from a few places. The first and most important is skating. Skateboarding a lot. This is why companies employ team-riders. The years and years that the skateboarding community has spent making minor tweaks to designs has brought the sport such a long way. The companies who make electric longboards have not skated much. They have not seen the dilemmas and problems associated with skating. Therefore, they cannot solve these problems, or even recognize that improvements are necessary. A lot of individuals and groups don’t know how to make a good deck, and the worst part is they don’t care to learn. They don’t know why slalom decks have pointed noses. They don’t know why W-cave is better in the back. They don’t understand why measuring the cutouts in a freeride shape is important. They don’t know the advantages of new-school drill