Working Title | Generic Amazon Drop deck | Help with Battery | TBD | Dual or Single?

Hey! Looking to start my first build to replace my Acton Blink S…(single HUB motor) which has been fine until recently when the battery started to crap out… or maybe the motor… anyways.

I’ve been doing a lot of reading on the forums and watching youtube vids… and I THINK I know what I need/want… but since I’m new to this it wouldn’t hurt to ask for advice. There seems to be a lot of cool helpful people here.

I live in a hilly area (New Westminster), work in a less hilly area (Vancouver) so I’ll want more torque right?.. my commute is mostly flats/slight incline… biggest inclines maybe %20 for short distances. So dual motors? Or is single motor enough? I don’t plan on exceeding 25 kmh… 30 kph tops (15-18 mph) Good braking is also a plus.

collections/featured-items/products/dual-motor-mechanical-kit collections/electric-skateboard-power-kits/products/dual-motor-electric-skateboard-kit

The battery I’m still unsure of… it seems a lot of websites won’t ship battery packs to Canada… I might be able to pick up in WA though… thinking of battery math makes my brain hurt though :frowning:

https://www.mboards.co/products/10s-battery-complete-battery-solution

would something like that work? I really only need around 15 kmh range (about 9 miles) and again not going all that fast… and 185 lbs… or should I just go with LiPos for my first and keep the cost down? Most other packs seem sooooo expensive!

The deck I’m hoping to just use a drop deck longboard that I got off Amazon last year, before I decided kicking was for chumps and went electric… Was thinking of building an aluminum box on the back end of the deck to house the battery/electronics… Are there any problems that would come up? Is there a reason you don’t see that very often?

Was hoping to keep this under $1000 CAD ($765 US)… but it seems like that’s wishful thinking.