Bad motor detection help

So just a preface, I’m new to all of this so if there is any extra info you need please ask and i’ll try and provide it. The parts for my board are all bought from https://eskating.eu/. motor: 6365 190kv sensored vesc: maytech vesc firmware 3.40 hardware 4.10 battery: 10s2p

So the problem is, I’ve been riding the board for a few weeks and on a ride the motor suddenly stopped spinning and wouldn’t respond to the remote. Once it was home and there was no load on it, the motor would sort of stutter. Then I went into the VESC tool and tried to use that to spin the motor, it spins properly but then says bad detection results, detection failed. I’ve looked across the forums but nothing I’ve found so far has worked. Hoping someone can help with this. If i’ve missed something out please let me know.

I would check my sensor wires. Maybe one of the wires broke, maybe one pin in the jst got lose etc etc. Do you use an extension cable? Like from the 1.5mm jst to the 2mm jst.

1 Like

Plug the controller into your computer and see if it throws any faults through the vesc tool. I’m aiming you have already checked all of the connections etc

If the tool doesn’t show any faults type “faults” into the terminal and see what it says. If it says there are no faults from startup try turning the motor manually and see if it spins normally or it’s giving you resistance.

1 Like

Try increasing the duty

1 Like

It will show if he has a drv error if he checks. He can also run motor detection and see if it errors too…

I’ve also had issue when using sensored bldc on enertion hubs but did sensored foc without a hitch

So mabye try different settings?

Hmmm maybe he just needs to try running the board in sensorless mode to see if it works…

That’s a good idea to make sure it’s only an issue with the sensors or the wiring.