Best solution to a On/Off switch

Hi i am a bit confused. I am looking for a way to turn on and off my board. I know of these options,

• XT90 Loop key
  • Vedder anti spark
  • BMS E switch

I would like to avoid the XT 90 switch since i think its very unpracticable. I have a 10S 60A bms from batterysupport system but without the switch, so im unsure if i can modifie it my self. and then i heard somewhere that the vedder switch can fry my electronics because the fuse is on the positive line. Which i dont quite understand.

Help is greatly appreciated

1 Like

I would recommend getting a BMS with an eswitch or xt90

Vedders fail with big batteries

2 Likes

I have a 10s4p pack

by big i mean how many amps it can deliver, when you are connecting electronics there’s always a big spike in power and that’s what fucks up the vedders switches especially if they are high C lipos

I’m not an expert on this, this is just what i remember from what i have read on here

I just found LHBs switch and he says it doesnt fail, so if your getting a switch, get his https://longhairedboy.com/collections/all/products/12s-bare-bones-eswitch

1 Like

AS150

12 Likes

Do you attach the negative or positive to the as150?

I second @Deckoz on AS150 Got that on my carver but not as innovative as his Mine is an old school pull plug

2 Likes

and how did you make the 90 degree angle connector

2 Likes

I will use this

This will work, but inside there will be a spark like when you plug 2 gold connectors together. The spark, everytime it occurs, will eat away a small bit of the contacts. After given number of switches it will be gone.

1 Like

That will probably work just fine for a while.

How many amps are you planning to run typically? For 60 amps or less mine work fine, I use them in conjunction with a 60 amp BMS.

One scenario that made them fail was when a 250 pound dude was regualrly doing 40mph on it, but 99% of the time they last a while.