Carbon Fiber eCarver

Hi guys this is my first post in here and I want to show you my project and my doubts related to it.

This is my actual skate and I use it every day when I go to university. I love the feeling it gives, I love how it turns and I love how it looks. I made the carbon fiber deck in my garage and I’m pretty satisfied with the result, it is very rigid and lightweight.

I’m planning to put on it an 8s setup with 2 Turnigy 4s 5000mAh in series, a VESC, a 190kv motor from DIY, a 2,5:1 reduction ratio and 75mm wheels. I’m going for this setup because I don’t want something too fast, I do not want to spend too much money and because I want to be able to go uphill pretty easily.

This is my blackboard with my annotations.

Why am I building this setup? I love the way a Carver makes you feel but I’ve been using it every day for 5 months making a total amount of >250miles on it and I think I would enjoy it more with electric power.

What makes me a little bit concerned is the stability. A Carver or a surfskate in general is quite unstable and this deck has a wheelbase of 17.5" that is quite short for a longboard.

ANSWERS

1. What do you think about the build?
    1. Do you think the list of pieces is correct or would you suggest something else?
    1. Do you think I should go for a traditional longboard setup?
    1. Do you know someone else who built something similar?

Feel free to answer, criticize and say whatever you want.

products/electric-skateboard-motor-6355-190kv products/torque-esc-vesc-bldc-electronic-speed-controller?variant=722351915031

4 Likes

I don’t think you need to use 8AWG wire 10 is great,

Also if you want better Hill climbing and less top speed This motor below is better for you, (less KV=Better hill climbing More KV= better top speed)

products/electric-skateboard-motor-6355-190kv

And have you got The motor mount pulley system, Charging figured out yet? or would you need some help with that?