Charging questions! Battery questions! HELP!

Hi eSk8 community! I’m really new to building a DIY board and I’ve picked a couple parts already, however I’m not sure if everything will work as I expect. I need this board to ride to school which is 10km(6.2mi) away and back 20km (13mi) I’m not concerned with speed but I’d like the board to go at least 15mph. I live in a pretty hilly place so I’d like torque to be good, I weight 70kg (150lbs.)

I’ve selected parts (but haven’t bought anything) from DIY including:

Motor 5055 190KV diy-electric-skateboard-kits-parts/electric-skateboard-motor-5055-190kv/

VESC diy-electric-skateboard-kits-parts/vesc-the-best-electric-skateboard-esc/

And here’s my trouble: Batteries. I was thinking of getting 3x 5000mah 3s batteries and connecting them in series. Will this be okay? If I weight 70kg will I be able to go 13 miles? https://hobbyking.com/en_us/zippy-flightmax-5000mah-3s1p-20c.html

My other query is charging difficulty. What charger should I use to charge the board? Since I’ve got 3x 3s batteries that’s 9s. I want a simple charging port that I can stick into the board. I don’t care too much about speed, as long as the range will get me 20km.

TL:DR Please help me decide my batteries and charging method! I want to go a long distance, don’t really care about speed, need torque, 9s, don’t know how to charge easily! THANK YOU!

1 Like

Have you pulled the plug on the motor yet? I would suggest getting a 6355 sized motor instead. Based on you saying it’s pretty hilly place. Also with the batteries it shouldn’t be too much more but, I would recommend at least 30c instead of twenty. I don’t have too much time to research at the moment cause I’m on lunch. Do you want to remove the batteries for charging or leave them in?

1 Like