First build | 6" pneumatic | RKP 273 | dual SK3 6364 245kv | homemade mounts | 12s | dual VESC

Hi guys,

This is my first build/post. A few months ago I saw a picture of an evolve all terrain board and fell in love with the idea of it. I come from the FPV multirotor world (seems like there’s a lot in common), so after talking with some friends who’d dabbled, I thought I’d try building an eboard myself and seeing if I could save some money. I truly appreciate the learning experience, but if I could go back in time I’d probably just work one overtime shift and buy the evolve board for the sake of spending a little more time with my family lol. This community is awesome, and I am grateful to everyone who has shared their knowledge and experiences. Thanks to Dexter at DIYelectricskateboard and @psychotiller for their help and information. Also thanks @treenutter for helping troubleshoot my speed/torque problem.

My goal was to build something that could ride over well kept grass, so that I could ride my board around at the park and retrieve my FPV drone after I crash it. Riding on the street would be a bonus. I wanted to come in under $1000 (google doc of spending fortunately I had many tools and material already at my disposal which kept some costs down). I came in around $850 and so far I’ve done a few test runs that were REALLY fun. I kind of just mocked everything up for the test run (no thread lock or anything) cause I was so excited to try it out. Turns out a motor pulley came loose and while the board road amazing on the street it didn’t go very far at all on the grass. I’m hoping that has to do with either the loose motor pulley or the VESC settings.

You can refer to the spending link above if you want to see more specifics about the parts I used, but I basically tried to cut costs on the deck, wheels, bearings, battery, mounts, and diy enclosure.