First build: Black as Night | Hi5ber Zenith | eBoosted enclosure & 12s5p | Unity | Torqueboards Direct Drive (75kv) | TB 110s | Flipsky VX1

I’m new to esk8, so I’m aiming for more of an “assembly” than a true build. I also didn’t want to go the path of buying a cheap pre-built, upgrading it multiple times, then finally doing a build to get things right.

I want big power and range right from the start. Hence the board’s original name: HyperNoob. (Now “Black as Night”)

Alan @Eboosted is doing the 12s5p 30q battery, BMS and charge port, and fitting it all into his Zenith enclosure. (edit: To make it all fit, Alan went with 10s5p. Still has a ton of power)

I found a Unity and TB DDs (75kv) both from @AlanZhou in the classifieds here. TB DDs in 75kv are currently out of stock and shipping in 30-40+ days from now, Enertion is still catching up, and I don’t want to wait that long.

I think (hope) the hardest part of the assembly will be the threaded inserts. Hi5ber is willing to send me a piece of “scrap” carbon fiber decking so that I can practice drilling threaded inserts for the first time, into carbon fiber, instead of learning how to do it on my new deck. That feels good.

I also have very little soldering experience, but I’ll practice that a bit while I wait for parts to arrive. I should only need to solder the flipsky battery monitor wire. I will glue the battery connector to the VX1 pcb, and protect it with some heatshrink and foam.

This forum has been a wealth of information, and I feel pretty confident in being able to do this build thanks to all the reading I’ve done here. I’ve read about the 3.5mm to 5mm connector differences on the Unity vs the TB DD, so I’ll be buying the plugs to make up some short adapters.

Please send me any pro-tips or relevant threads that could help me put this board together. I still know so little…

Thanks, Cameron

3 Likes

I don’t even think you have to do that if you don’t need or want battery readout on the remote.

1 Like