Heavy Duty Decks for Large Guys?

With the kind of power we have on DIY boards these days i believe that there should be a setup that works for large riders. I have been longboarding for many years but my push board has a lot of flex, i dont feel it would be safe to add all the required electronics. Im around 145kgs (320lbs) and I have most the parts sorted but im struggling to find a good strong deck. I have searched but its so hard to find consistent information about deck strength and layup from most manufactures.

What im looking for:

• I would like to use wide TB trucks so i can support dual 6374 (for the torque).
  • I would like the option to use larger wheels (thus larger pulleys/ratio) without getting wheel bite.
  • I am trying to find the stiffest deck possible.
  • I am trying to achieve a layout similar to the Evolve GT.

Im hoping someone might be able to offer deck recommendations. So what you big guys cruising on?

2 Likes

@BigBoyToys should guide you in the right direction

320lbs?!?! I would definitely go carbon fiber for ZERO flex (https://www.hi5ber.com/), I am bias towards CF purely on aesthetics though, long rides are tough on your legs on full CF. I’m not sure what kind of flex your weight would have on something with a W concave. Maybe have a deck of your liking and add one layer of CF on the bottom to reduce flex.

I was going to suggest that too. A fiberglass or carbon layer on the bottom will greatly reduce downward flex. The only flex at that point would be from compression of wood and not tension of wood

1 Like

Interesting. Those look like nice boards however they are a little on the pricey side. Also im in EU so you add +30$ for heavy duty, +45$ for international shipping, +VAT and import tax. :money_with_wings:

DIY Carbon Fiber. I have yet to do this myself, but this is the guide I plan to use.