Is my VESC fried?

I need some advise form you VESC experts. I followed all the instructions and end up with no motor detection and flashing red LED’s. I modified the battery settings before doing motor detection. I am using 2 XT90 anti-spark connectors in my harness. One at VESC connection and one in anti-spark loop switch. I thought that would make it safe for me to configure my VESC using fully charged 6S LIPO batteries (3 x 2S in series). I don’t have any additional motors etc. to swap out to get the answer to my problem. I can purchase a meter and check resistance in motor lead wires to try to eliminate the motor as the problem. I have a couple RC cars that have ESC’s but I don’t think I can connect my large E skate motor to one of those setups to see if the motor would run. As you can tell, I am not an electronics expert. Are there any settings I can change in the BLDC tool and re-try? Is they a way with a cheap multi-meter for me to verify if my VESC is toast? If it is DOA I just want to move on and buy another one. If so I want more advise. Do I buy a FOC Box with warranty and try again or do I buy a Olins VESC and try again? Or maybe a VESC from Miami Electric Boards? I need to hear from people with experience. Thanks in advance.

Are you doing the detection with the wheel on. If so that’s your problem you can’t test it with the wheel on.

Yes belt and wheel attached.

That’s your problem try it without the wheel and belt it should work then. Good luck

1 Like

Sweet! They don’t mention that in the Vid’s on VESC configuration!

Thanks!

Yeah don’t tell anyone but I made that mistake was rushing and wanted to get it done and forgot to do that. Also reset any changes you made to the setting well trying to figure it out don’t want and wildly incorrect values. By the way did it work

u can also increas ermp by 100s

1 Like