Jaguar XS-RS: DIY Jaguar Skateboard

Been on the forum a while now, and while my board is still very much a work in progress, I’ve got too many ideas and parts floating around to not start a build thread. I work for Jaguar Land Rover, I’m an apprentice technician. Seeing these cars day in, day out, I’ve a real soft spot for some of the little touches in the designs of these machines.

The Plan: Build a board, using characteristics and design cues from existing and historic Jaguar cars. If I can get my hands on an I-Pace battery pack, you can bet your arse those Samsung cells will be getting used :grin:

Specs: 10s5p or 12s4p Samsung 30Q or I-Pace cells (to be purchased when funds allow) Focbox Unity (when they finally start shipping) Direct Drive (I’ll touch on this in a sec) Jaguar E-Pace gear selector remote, GT2B or NRF internals (got some Arduino Nanos on order so we’ll see the results of testing) 3D printed Jaguar D-Type bodyshell (you’ll see why eventually :wink: ) F-Type bronze Ignition Switch (Because who wants a normal on/off switch?) RC lights (one set of head and tail lights, one set of Tamiya lights with indicators) Deck will likely be laser cut and hand laminated, plywood and fibreglass (still trying to find somewhere local that’ll be able to help with that one)

Direct Drive: Recently becoming more and more popular, though the Carvons and TorqueBoards ones are just way outta my price range. I like the Metasurf ones, but they seem a little underpowered. I’ll likely go down the route of a DIY set, using existing components. I’d like to see 100kv sensored, for a top speed approaching 30mph. Depending what kind of tools I have at my disposal, I’d like to try some form of watercooling on the stator, but I’ll need to get some motors in my hand before working out if that’s a feasible idea.

Thanks for taking the time to have a nosey at my little project, I’ll try and get some pictures uploaded as work progresses :smiley:

14 Likes