My batteries run out after about 500m

Hey everyone,

Firstly like to introduce myself, im Jake and im new to e-boards but im a maker so i decided to build a custom board.

The board is built and works great but the issue im having is that the batteries run out after only like 500m of riding, basically to the end of my road and back a couple of times.

I have dual motor and using the followowing

Motors

Batteries

Vesc

I’m new to the setup of the motors so any advice on what the parameters should be.

Pretty straight forward setup,

batteries to vesc’s via diy antispark switch to motors

Thanks for your help in advance

Did you configure the battery settings on the vesc?? Like the throttle voltage and the cutoff voltage??

2 Likes

How many of those lipos do you have and whats the configuration?

3 Likes

Hey both,

Yes configured using the setup wizards on the vesc tool. I have two of these lipos in series

So you have 8s and so you cutoff voltage should be 24v (lipos cannot dip below 3v per cell so 3x8= 24v)

And your throttle voltage should be 25.6v (your performance should start to decrease at 3.2v per cell)

Never set lipo cut off at 3v/cell. Use 3.6 as minimum or they will start puffing uneccesary fast.

3 Likes

You know that 3.7v is nominal of lipos right, lipos only become damaged below 3.0v

Lipos are basically lions but in a pouch

1 Like

You know that lipos shouldnt be discharged more than 80% of full capacity? 80 % is 3.6-3.7v/cell depending.

The main reasons lipos start puffing is because their only rated at 200 discharges/charges and higer end lipos like turning graphine can match 18650

You can go on any rc fourm and they know it best 3.0v is ok and it’s fine

Edit. 10 char

Just search up max lipo discharge voltage

Also I think what you mean is that a lipo should not be at 3.3v under load to avoid damage

If you worried than set the throttle voltage to 3.5v