Need help with getting my parts!

Hello builders, I’m “new” to E-Boards. I mean there isn’t much to understand once you know electronics well enough, but I’m no pro when it comes to Electronic Systems, so I wanted to ask for help and recommendations. Note: The board will have 6 wheels, yeah 6. It will have a Tandem Axle setup in the nose. Pic:image These are my following ‘Specs’:

• 42" DIY Deck (3 x 3/16" Plywood W/ Fiberglass and Resin in between Layers)
  • Caliber II RKP Trucks, Front, and Rear
  • Cal 97mm Wheels, 6x
  • Flipsky Dual FSEC 4.20, 100A
  • 2x Hobbysky 6374 190KV BLDC
  • DIY, 12S2-4P Li-Po Battery Pack using 10000Mah Cells from Alibaba (many to choose from, but they are ALL dirt cheap)
  • Tx/Rx, just a cheap one
  • Gearing ~2.5-3.5:1 Ratio
  • BMS 12S 30A(?) 48V So the only real part I need help with is the BMS, at least for now. I understand how to wire up the BMS to the cells (not hard), but what I can’t seem to understand is the Amp rating for the BMS. The eBay seller I will buy the BMS from sells multiple variants, ranging from 30-60A. Is the Amp rating the max the system can take before its toast? Idk, kinda lost, so I decided to ask you pros. I think it has to do with the C rating of the entire Battery Pack than I will need to get the BMS according to the Battery Specs…?

Thank you guys,

Regards,

Joseph, a noob builder :grinning:

So let’s say you have a 60a bms. If you pull more than 60a your bms will cut the power because it’s designed to deliver 60a and not more than that. You’d be better off with a 80a bms because if you overbuild then you can ride knowing you’re not pushing your system. Most of us run 60a bms’s. You can also bypass a low amp bms and use it for charging only.

1 Like