New to making a DIY electric skateboard, need help finding the best parts for the budget

Hi, I’m new to creating a DIY electric skateboard. I don’t really have a humongous amount of cash but looking for the best parts for a good price. Currently I found a motor (HGLTECH) not sure if that’s a good brand or not, a (Generic) pulley kit, not sure what the gear ratio is. Currently looking for a battery, I’ve seen the 10s3P is a good choice but it’s very expensive. Trying to find a battery that’s cheap but very good quality (help will be appreciated), I’m trying to have a target speed of 25 mph and a good mileage, also looking for a ESC that can handle the voltage of the battery and won’t short out. Later on after the board is built I would be upgrading the components. Any suggestions will be amazing, this kind of stuff intrigues me and I’m looking forward to getting into it

1 Like

I suggest you go with Flipsky for motors, looks the same as HGLTECH but is battle hardened and well used on esk8s.

How far do you hope to go on your Battery pack? Or how much are you looking to spend on it?

Also what country are you located? As Battery shipping rules mean it’s better to buy local and there are many people out there building custom packs at reasonable prices.

Ok, yea I saw flipsky, wasn’t sure if that was a good brand or not. Was looking for the ones with the best reviews, the HGLTECH had like 4.8 out of 5 stars, I recently found a 50v 12s2p battery for $167.00 that had BMS and comes with a charger so I wouldn’t need to take the battery out to charge it. Currently looking for a VESC or ESC, doing as much research as I can but I will take suggestions, my target mileage is a maximum of 10 or higher, that’s what I’m trying to aim for. I live in Illinois so shipping is fairly easy to get