THE OSPREY | Single Hub Motor | VESC

None of this is official, let me know if you have any suggestions

Already have: 42" Sector 9 Flexy Deck Bearings - Bones Super Reds

Buying: 2x 5s 8000 mAh Zippy Flight Max VESC 1x Carvon Single Hub Motor

Note: I live in Florida and am very lightweight. So virtually no hills.

Any suggestions will help!

Well planned setup, 16/36 will give you good speed with little less torque but since you don´t have hills in Florida, you won´t get any problems with that.

The only thing i would think about again is the choice of your batterys. I´m also using 2x 5S Lipos and seeing all these great flat 18650 li-ion builds here kind of pisses me off that i went for these big lipo blocks :smiley:

Are your trucks Calibers? You also need Flywheels. You can go with the clones as well, but if you can swing the real deal, I’d stick with Abec11. My preference is 90mm to get you over any bumps and gravel.

I’m still new to this but I’m about to start a fairly similar build. You’re probably already aware but you’ll only be getting around 7000rpm with a 190kv motor using a 10s setup. You’d be able to maintain your desired top speed (~48kph?) but with a better reduction ratio giving more torque if you went to a 12s setup. This is all assuming an 83mm wheel.

Hey, I have a 5055 brushless outrunner, a skateboard, rc transmitter, esc, but I need a motor mount. I`ve tried before and failed, but I want to try again and make a easy to make motor mount or buy a cheap motor mount, any suggestions? Would really help me out.

Welcome Michael! :slight_smile: What deck will you actually be using?

Btw, take a look at the naming convention for new topics in the build category: http://www.electric-skateboard.builders/t/about-the-e-board-builds-category/25?u=zeno

That way we can keep yours apart from all of the other first builds :slight_smile:

What are the downsides to switching to those batteries if any.