This Will Be Fun! Another noob trying to build

First off, I’m a boarder. I never played with rc. I was at a skatepark, mountain, lake, or ocean. I love boarding, all of them. So i’ve finally made it here. I need an esk8. I dont know my way around a circuit board but i can build giant buildings so how hard could it be? What you guys do here is extremely challenging. This is my first build. Any advise will be greatly apprieciated.

Trampa Carver Vertigo Trucks Hypa hubs @idea motor mounts @idea pulleys 2 x Hobbysky 6384 170 kv sensored Dual FSESC6.6 Plus based on VESC6 2.4Ghz Remote VX1 flipsky remote and reciever Anti spark Switch Smart 280A flipsky Bluetooth Module 2.4G Wireless Based upon the nrf51_vesc project 2 x Gens ace 6200mAh 22.2V 60C 6S1P Lipo Battery

i think i still need a bms and a charger. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance!

1 Like

I personally don’t like electronic antispark switches, they have a tendency to fail at inopportune times - A regular XT90-S loopkey is the gold standard in my book for simplicity, cost and reliability.

6.2Ah of batteries won’t give you much range, especially with pneumatic tires - I’d guess less than ten miles if you’re riding conservatively, and probably more like five or seven if you’re going hard. For a mountainboard (I assume you are going that way beased off your trucks and hubs), I’d recommend at least 15Ah, and li-ion instead of LiPo.

2 Likes

The parts list is alright. For a learner, dual 6384 is massively powerful. The hobbysky ones seem to have a lower amp rating than advertised. For a mtb, you want a bare minimum of 10ah worth of batteries. I would recommend going with a 12s6p or 8p 18650 pack, or build a 12s3p pack using turnigy 5000mah batteries.

Dont rush into this and make mistakes. Most people have already made several boards before they build a mtb

1 Like